The Early Years Foundation Stage is special because it places equal priority on supporting children’s social and emotional development, as well as their learning. As a nursery, we strive to give our children a broad range of knowledge and skills that will provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life. Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to reach their potential.

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning in order to support their development. During their time at nursery, your child will be learning skills and acquiring new knowledge in 7 areas of learning and development. All of these areas are important and interconnected, and are used to plan your child’s learning and activities.

The prime areas are important for building children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, help children to develop positive relationships and encourage them to thrive whilst they are at nursery. The prime areas are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

The prime areas are further strengthened and applied through the teaching of the specific areas. The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Our staff team work together to ensure that all of our children benefit from a range of different activities every day, which are designed to help the children achieve their best in all 7 areas of learning and development. Our curriculum is designed to be flexible so that it meets the needs and interests of our children. We encourage our children to bring their own interests and fascinations into nursery so that we can follow and extend their interests by providing stimulating resources for them. Creativity is encouraged in every area and we fully embrace outdoor learning, whatever the weather!

Nursery Recommended Reads